Rambling On and On

Yesterday was pretty good as far as extra days off from school go. As I had hoped Marshall was in a good mood after getting his punching bag (which is a really nice one, btw) and didn’t stir up any trouble at all. Regina’s boyfriend came over late in the afternoon, which made her happy and the baby took a good nap so he wasn’t a cranky pants in the early evening. Aidan is swamped at work so he got home a little later than usual but he quickly set up the punching bag and even gave Regina’s boyfriend a ride home after dinner, which meant a lot to me considering how tired he probably was.

I had made a late lunch of cheese burgers for myself and the kids using the beef I was planning on using for dinner. Of course when dinner time rolled around I had absolutely no idea what to make and had to work hard to come up with an idea. Our freezer is stocked with chicken and beef but it’s obviously all frozen and I’d never be able to get it to defrost in an hour or less. I rummaged around for 15 minutes repeating over and over “I don’t know what I’m going to do.” I realized I had some pepper and onions and plenty of cheese and tortilla shells so I made veggie quesadillas. It certainly wasn’t the highlight of cooking but they made everyone happy and filled them up.

After dinner I pulled out enough meat for tonight and tomorrow and feel better about life. I truly hate not being prepared ahead of time for dinner. If I know what I am making ahead of time my life runs 1,000% smoother. I was doing a pretty decent job with making a weekly menu and keeping up with it but I somehow veered off. I think I went wrong when I started trying to make two weeks worth of menus and then even a months worth. Ideally, a month would be super awesome but for some reason it truly is challenging for me to think up all those meals at once. I think making the menu ahead of time makes it easy because not only does it take away the guess work everyday but it also cuts back on trips to the market and helps me keep food costs low. One of my resolutions is to do a months worth of planning and since February is a short month I think I will target that for then. If I start it in the next few days it will give me enough time to think it through.

I wasn’t able to paint my nails yesterday. Regina slept late and I didn’t want to wake her up by searching around in her room for the polish and after she woke up I only remembered at random and inconvenient times that I had wanted to get them done. I’ll try again today though :)

Marshall is staying home from school today because he isn’t feeling well. I didn’t fight with him the way I did with Regina 2 weeks ago but that is because he is more believable. He usually acts difficult in the morning and when he doesn’t want to go for the sake of just not wanting to he makes it clear. This morning he just asked me for tissues and said I really don’t feel good, please don’t make me go. If he wakes up in an hour seemingly normal I’ll just drive him in, but I don’t think that will be the case.

There have been germs all over this house lately. I don’t know what is going on but I seriously can’t wait to open the windows and get some fresh air moving in here. They are calling for a few measly inches of snow again tomorrow and I’m really giving up hope that we will have an actual storm this winter. I know it’s early but that’s just the way it seems. Regina asked me why I said I can’t wait til spring and then how bad I want a storm. I told her I felt like if it’s going to be this cold we might as well get some excitement out of it. Shoveling snow off of my roof is so exciting. No, it’s really not. Watching the news when there are big storms, drinking hot chocolate, eating snacks  and watching inches and inches of snow piling up outside is exciting to me though. Weird? Maybe. I think a lot of other people feel the same way though.

I’ve got some straightening up to do and I haven’t done my laundry in a few days. Falling off! I will get back on track tho. I’ve got three loads to catch up on. I’ve been great about the kitchen at least :) There are toys everywhere that need to be picked up and I have a little time before Henry wakes up so I’d better make the most of it. Have a nice day!

Leave a comment