A little lamp makeover

Oh my aching back :( I’m STILL not done the cabinets, despite working for like 11 hours yesterday. This project is much much more than I expected it to be. And the worst part is that I have a whole other cabinet I need to do after this one is done. Ugh. I really hope it will be worth it in the end.

This was definitely a project for a sprayer but I don’t have one. Maybe I can rent one for the next cabinet. Can you rent paint sprayers? I’ll look into it. It would definitely cut my time down immensely.

Another project that I started working on this weekend involves gold leaf. I never worked with it before and thought it would be fun to try out on a lamp I had that was pretty beat up. I started by lightly sanding the green paint it was covered in and giving it 3 light coats of a creamy white color. Then I did a little gold leafing..

img_4569

It was very easy to work with and turned out looking pretty cool. I plan on adding more to the lamp in the same type of pattern in different areas as it’s not as noticeable as I’d like it to be.

img_4568

Looks pretty neat so far, don’t you think? It is a fun project to work on, much easier than the beast cabinet lol the sealer was still wet when I took the picture so that is why it’s glossy but I will take another picture when my project is finished.

Right now it looks like I am collecting white lamps with black shades because I have 3 sitting on the bureau in the dining room. I am going to put the small lamp in the living room (I think) but need an extension cord.

This house is a hot mess. Seriously. Between working, working on the cabinets and just living life I am exhausted and the house is suffering. There are a bunch of little things similar to needing the extension cord for the lamp that need to be taken care of. So many little things that are piling up and making the house feel upside down. I’m feeling overwhelmed if I’m going to be honest. I’ll get it together though, so I will try not to stress :)

Well have a good day. I’m going to shower and get ready for work.

One thought on “A little lamp makeover

Leave a comment