Covered in Dust

The house is covered in dust after yesterday’s session of pulling out the closet. Aidan took the boys to Target and the mall and while they were gone I went to work!

Demolition is hard work and messy work. I only pulled a little bit out — I can’t imagine how crazy it will be in here if we actually ever pull the other walls down. The hardest part though was actually deciding whether to get to the point of no turning back.

After getting all of the inside of the closet down I had to give myself a few pep talks to keep going. Not because I was tired or scared but, you know, I was destroying my house in the hopes of something better.

I suddenly just went for it and smashed the shit out of the drywall. There was no turning back. After working most of the drywall off and cleaning up for the 3rd time I took a step back and looked at the work:

img_3589-1

I smiled! The room felt better already. Not having that awkward closet there really makes it feel bigger, being able to see the ceiling in that space. I forgot how tall my ceilings are but this view reminded me!

After Aidan came home with a super awesome surprise and the boys I made them dinner and helped get the boys settled. The surprise that Aidan brought home was a digital antenna for the tv! We have been cable free for 3 years and I love Roku and wouldn’t ever go back to cable but being able to watch regular tv now is so exciting lol! Logan didn’t understand what commercials were and said, “What is going on? What is wrong with this thing?” Ha! So funny..

Back to work I went once they were in good shape. I just wanted to get the rest down so I could be finished the demo part. That didn’t happen though because many of the screws were were buried in the wood and it was slowing me down a lot. It was bedtime for the kids so I had to call it quits for the night.

When I woke up this morning this is what I it looks like now:

img_3592

Not much left to do on the demo side. I just have to remove the rest of the frame and then the last bit of drywall. I will have to figure out how they attached those wood strips to the walls also but I am not doing that today. We have a party to go to!

After all of the demo is done I need to do a good dust and vacuum session!

I have the vision that this room will be better without the closet! I can’t believe I actually went ahead with it. I’ve been wanting to do it for years.

Woo hoo for smashing things :)

7 thoughts on “Covered in Dust

  1. How exciting!
    I recently just finished updating my guest bathroom and plan to write a post about that – maybe I’ll do that today and share a few pics of it, too.
    Yay for updating and remodelling and for crazy women who think they can accomplish anything they put their minds to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

