Head in the clouds, cause why not?

As usual my head has been up in the clouds thinking about this house and the things I’d like to change in it. You’ve heard me talk about pulling the fireplace out and we still haven’t gotten to it yet but will eventually. I also want to pull down the two walls on the main floor and someday we will do that also.

Every day I sit in here and visualize what it will look like when we have finally opened the space up. It’s fun to think about but leaves me with a dangerous itch to scratch. Aidan said yesterday “Please don’t pull anything down while I’m at work.” He was referring to my new obsession of exposing the brick in our bedroom. How did I jump from downstairs to upstairs? It’s his fault. He told me our first two projects should be our bedroom and the bathroom. The are smaller projects and less expensive ones that we can handle mostly (if not fully) on our own.

We’ve long talked about exposing brick in here. It would look so nice and when we do get to the downstairs there will be parts of a brick wall exposed, so it would tie in nicely. Oh my fingers are itching.

I saw a beautiful bed that I want to buy for our room the other day. We need a new bed as ours is a queen and barely fits us and the little kids. Also the support frame is broken because someone doesn’t listen to me and jumps on the bed when he gets into it. I’ll give you a hint: Aidan. Seriously. Anyway — I found the bed of our dreams and realized how gorgeous it would be in front of a brick wall. So now that’s my obsession.

Here are some of my inspiration pictures:

I would show a picture of the actual bed, but it isn’t on Pottery Barn’s website. I suspect that it is because they are running a big sale and don’t want to give people 25%  off of the price. If it’s gone for good I know the manufacture’s name and have already looked on their website and they do custom orders. I also know of a local place that could make it for us. So that bed will be ours. Once we can afford it (and a new mattress. And have torn down the plaster. And switched the door to open a different way.)

Maybe I’ll have my super awesome bedroom. Maybe I won’t. The point is that project is on the forefront of my mind.

Next on the project obsession is the bathroom.

I’ve decided that after we rip out all of the tile I’d like to remove the old cast iron tub (not a claw foot) and replace all of it with a one piece fiberglass tub and shower. Wait.. what? No gorgeous tile  running up the wall. Fuck tile in the shower. I hate it. Yes, it looks pretty but I fucking hate cleaning it. There is no way to prevent mold when there is tile, grout and caulk involved. Fucking hate it.

The floor however will have tile. Marble hopefully. That can be my splurge. Hopefully.

This is the tile I have wanted to put in there for well over a year now.

657370

Since it’s been on my mind for so long I guess that means I like it a lot, right? So an all white tub and shower with a glass door like this:

Aqua-Uno-58-x-34-Pivot-Frameless-Hinged-Tub-Door

And a new white toilet and pedestal sink.

Ok the kids are up. Time to get back to life :)

3 thoughts on “Head in the clouds, cause why not?

Leave a Reply

