Long Time Coming

Holy cow, it’s been a long time since I’ve last written! I think this was the longest I’ve gone without writing since I started this blog. I blame it on the daylight change (it has the babies waking up earlier) and the fact that Aidan was going into work (his new job) much earlier than ever before.

This morning though I got up early, determined to write. Could I have slept and enjoyed an extra 45 minutes in bed? You bet, but sometimes making time for yourself to do what’s important to you is a better idea.

So what’s been going on this week? Let’s see…

The kids were off from school for election day on Tuesday. Regina cleaned her room (!) for most of the day and Marshal was out and about.

Hey Peoples!

Logan is a chatty patty. Seriously. He won’t be quiet for even a minute. While at the play ground the other day he saw a little boy he has played with before. This little boy and his grandparents are Asian and do not speak English but that didn’t stop Logan..

Hey peoples!

Hey peoples!

Hey peoples!

I eat bananas sometimes.

I eat grapes sometimes.

I peel banana.

Hey peoples.

Do you see the trees fall leaves in autumn?

They didn’t respond to him at all because they had no idea that he was even talking to them. I didn’t want him to get discouraged about sharing his love of fruit with strangers so I explained to him that they spoke another language and that they weren’t being rude. Smart boy actually understood.

Yesterday we were in the waiting room of a doctors office and chatty patty started to tell a stranger that Maddox spits up all the time. He’s going to be one of those kids who spills all the family secrets, I can see it now.

Get in my belly! No, Hold me!

Maddox has been eating baby food for a little over a week now. He’s doing great with it and is now eating a whole container in one sitting. I only feed him solids once a day but he knows when he it’s time to eat and gets sooo excited when he sees the spoon. So far he’s had applesauce, squash, bananas and sweet potatoes. This boy can eat and he’s a little chunkster.

IMG_1726

He’s also adorable.

And he wants to be held most of the day which is a total pain in the ass.

I’ve started giving him toys in hopes that they will occupy him and they do help a little. He does well with a jingly stuffed animal, a soft baby book that crinkles and plastic rings he can chew on.

I haven’t been able to get much done around the house because of his need to be held and while it drives me insane I need to realize it is a phase and it won’t last long. Soon enough he will be like Logan and saying “NO HUGS!” sigh.. Can there be some middle ground?

Shiny and New

Aidan got his new car. After going to a few dealerships last week he finally found what he was looking for. His old car was starting to get to that stage when it would need one repair after another and it had something like 150k miles on it. At first he was going to lease something for 2 years but in the end it made much more sense to buy one. So he bought a really nice Honda Civic SI. It’s a 2 door which I immediately got annoyed with but after a minute of thinking about it I didn’t care. I think it’s great. He’s thrilled with it, we have the truck to drive when we go anywhere and the payments aren’t very high at all.

It’s a hard pill to swallow thinking about car payments though. 5 months ago we didn’t have any and now we have two. I’d really like to get a part time job, just to make enough to cover the payments on the truck and the car but I can’t trust what would go on here if I was working at night. Aidan and Marshal have not been getting along AT ALL and I worry that all hell would break loose. On top of breastfeeding and having to make dinner and not being able to see the big kids.. Something will work out eventually. I’d really like to be making some money though.

Evidence of our existence..

I started going through the computers and pulling together photos that I want to get printed. So far I have pulled together about 400 pictures, going back about 7 years. I still have a few folders to get through and it’s a long and kind of annoying task. It’ll be worth it though. Regina knows of a place that will give you 1,000 prints for free, you just need to pay shipping. I also have coupons for free photo books from Shutterfly. For years I’ve said I’d do this big project and I am determined to get it done in the next few days.

Okay so that’s it for now. Have a great weekend. I’ll try to write some more today to talk about the other stuff going on around here.

5 thoughts on “Long Time Coming

  1. Do you have an Ergo or a sling you could put the baby in so you can get stuff done around the house and still “hold” him, hands-free? That was a lifesaver for me because Evelyn was a velcro baby who always wanted to be held, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I don’t! We had a snugli for Logan but it was not easy to use and then when we had the fire I didn’t replace it. I’d love to get one but don’t know what’s a good one and don’t want to waste $ on one I won’t like again..

      Like

  2. So nice to read a new post from you again – I start to worry when you disappear for too long from the blogging world, but I also know that life sometimes just doesn’t cooperate with or care about our writing intentions. 😊
    I think it’s cute that Logan loves to chat to everybody, but you’re right about family secrets – you likely won’t have any if he hears of them! LOL
    Hope you have a good weekend coming up and get to enjoy a couple of days with your family.
    I’m going out tomorrow evening to a musical theatre with my band-mates and then will likely join my son at a Blues show afterward. It’s my sons birthday tomorrow (37 years old – how is that even possible? 😳) and he’d like me to go to the show with him and his friends so I probably should. I guess I can rest when I’m dead. 😴
    Happy Friday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

