What Would the World Be Without Friends or Hot Chocolate

My beautiful blogging friend Jahaira who writes at Figuring It Out Mommy recently commented about being a hot chocolate snob and I just had to share this delicious recipe with her and anyone else who might love a great cup of hot chocolate now or when the snow starts falling this winter.

I have two warnings for you though — first: this makes a large amount of hot chocolate, so unless you have a ton of people to drink it you may want to half it; second: this is really, really good but very, very filling; you’ll drink more than one cup but more than two will put you into a coma :)

This recipe comes from the Better Homes and Gardens Simple Slow Cooker Recipes book. I have made it a lot more than a few times over the years but I am always surprised with how good it is. Really. It’s a great recipe!

Three Way Cocoa

3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
8 cups milk
1 tablespoon vanilla
Marshmallows or whipped cream (optional)

In a 3&1/2 to 5 quart crock pot combine sugar and cocoa.
Stir in milk.
Cover and set to low for 3-4 hours or high for 1&1/2 to 2 hours.
Before serving stir in vanilla.

If desired:
– carefully beat cocoa with a beater (or wisk) until frothy
– top with marshmallows or whipped cream.

Variations:

Spicy Cocoa:
Add 1 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg with cocoa powder

Mocha Cocoa:
Stir 3/4 teaspoon instant coffee into mug before filling with cocoa

I always just make the plain cocoa but thought I’d include the variations for anyone who is a little more daring than I :)

5 thoughts on “What Would the World Be Without Friends or Hot Chocolate

  1. Sounds like a great recipe to have on hand for the tough Canadian winters we often have in New Brunswick.
    I’ll need to play around with it to substitute stevia for the sugar and will use almond or coconut milk instead of cows milk, but it should still taste amazing. I think I’ll make it when my family is all together one weekend so I won’t be the only one in a coma! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ❤❤❤❤❤💙💙💙💙💙💚💚💚💜💜💜💓💓💓💓💕💕💕💕💖💖💖💖💗💗💗💗💝💝💝💝💞💞💞💞💞💟💟💟💟💟💟💟THANK YOU!!!!! I AM GOING TO MAKE IT FOR HALLOWEEN!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am a serious hot chocolate snob. I have been wanting to go back to Parc in Philly because I remember having some phenomenal HC there. I just bought some Starbucks packets and they were disappointing. I can’t wait to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

