Keeping Track of Life

Last August I thought it was time for me to try out using a daily planner to track all the appointments we had going on every week. I was sick of all the little cards the doctors hand out and having to search through my wallet for them when I thought There were appointments coming up. I missed a few appointments in the year and with school starting I knew I had to get better organized if I wanted our household to function better.

I had been given a few calendars through out my life but never really stuck with using them because a) I thought they weren’t very pretty b) I felt silly pulling it out of my bag and c) I didn’t have all that many appointments. Life changed though and we were racking up appointments left and right, on average I’d say we had 3 a week, and it was getting increasingly harder to keep up with everything. So one day when I was in Barnes and Noble I decided to make a big girl purchase and my life has since improved for the better.

  
The planner I picked out wasn’t anything fancy but it was pretty and it fit well in my bags. I wasn’t sure that I would get used to using it and didn’t want to waste a lot of money so it wasn’t expensive, maybe $12. At first I felt kind of funny using it, but I quickly got over that feeling and actually started feeling good when I’d have to say, “Let me check my book” or “I don’t need a card, thanks” when making upcoming appointments. I grew to love the feeling of being organized and in control of what was going on in our weeks!

Last week when I was trying to write a doctors appointment in for September I realized that I was at the end of my pages in the planner and started to think about what I would like to replace it with. I had seen a lot of different planners on the internet when I looked in the past and even though I loved my little Barnes and Noble planner I thought it might be time to upgrade to something more permanent. Something that I could just buy refills for each year. I knew I was in good habit of using the calendar and it wouldn’t be a waste of money! Also I thought it might be a sort of reward for being so organized with or many appointments through out a full year.

I told Aidan about my need for a new planner and showed him the one I was secretly hoping for on the Filofax website. I really like their planners as they are leather, have a few pockets to hold business cards in and various other sections that I could put to use. From that website we looked on Amazon and sure enough the exact one I was wanting was listed there for $15 less and had free shipping! He placed the order and I was super excited to get my upgraded daily planner!

  
When it came 2 days later I have to admit that it was larger than I expected it to be. Aidan noticed that too and asked if I knew it would be so big and if I liked it still. While the size through me through a bit of a loop I have to say yes! I still do like it very much! It fits in my bigger bags and if I am using a small bag it’s nice enough that I can carry it separately and not feel awkward about it. I already started using it to fill out the rest of the appointments for the month and through September which I had to randomly write in my old planner.

  
Aidan makes fun of me and calls me an old lady because I’d rather use a real planner than keep appointments in my phone. I’ve tried to use my phone for appointments before, but I just don’t like it. I prefer to be able to see everything and write it down instead of having to click on each date and set reminders, etc. It’s just easier for me.

Do any of you use planners? If not how do you keep track of all that you need to remember each week? I have found this really is the best way for me, even though it took a little getting used to at first!

11 thoughts on “Keeping Track of Life

  1. I have been thinking about starting to use a planner too. I sometimes put things in my phone but find that sometimes things disappear or I don’t get notifications. You’ve made me want to jump in my car and go to a store I know has awesome planners at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We were just a target and saw some really cute ones! My daughter actually picked one out to try :) I’m not sure if you have Targets?? I had the same problem with my phone eating appointments! So confusing lol

      Like

  2. OMG planners are my life, lol. With seven schedules to keep track of at one time, yes I can’t live w/o my planner. I have customized it and it is just the coolest thing I own. I have thought about posting pictures of it. It is really like my baby <3

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, I think I will b/c it has everything I need all in one place. I have spent years doing my planner before it was like it is now. Man, I can’t believe how much stuff is out there now. It is mind boggling…

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I had a Taylor Planner for years. At my old job, they gave them out to whoever wanted one. That thing was my life! I have one year’s version saved in a drawer. One time I left it by accident at Wal-Mart, left it in the cart or something. I was practically hyperventilating; I had passwords written in it, probably my bank account numbers, etc. (not too smart). Luckily a lady called me and returned it. Now I just write everything on my wall calendar. I too don’t like keeping appointments in my phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been trying to decide what to write in there and what not to, like health insurance info, etc.. I hope I won’t lose mine but it’s possible so I should be safe and not put anything super personal, I would hyperventilate, too! It’s lucky that someone was nice enough to turn it in!
      I don’t have a house calendar yet but I have been thinking I should get one so I am not the only one who knows what’s going on. I looked a little in the beginning of the year for one that I liked and then probably got distracted lol I guess I could start looking again because I like the idea :)

      Like

  4. Every year for Christmas, I make a calendar on shutterfly with my favorite photos for the grandparents and myself. I hang out by the door. So,I write everything on there. Appointments and what we did. So when I go to put something down I get to see how the boys looked that month the previous year. Then, it also has memories almost like a journal at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

