Sleeping and Similarities

Well, it happened again.. The baby slept all night with only waking up once for a feeding. I can’t believe it, it seems like some sort of a miracle. His two older brothers never gave me this kind of peace and quiet and I feel like the luckiest mom in the world. I don’t know that it will last, but already at this point he is a better sleeper than either of the other boys were.

My daughter (the first child) was an easy baby — and that completely had me fooled into thinking all babies were easy. She slept really well and had a laid back personality so when I found out I was pregnant for a second time with Marshal I totally thought I could handle it. He was colicky and didn’t sleep well. I couldn’t handle it. Life was hard! Henry had a great attitude, similar to Regina’s, but was the worst sleeper of them all. Every 45 minutes that boy woke up for the first 6 months of his life. He’s two now and I think we could count on one hand the number of nights he slept all the way through without waking up. So please, don’t think I am bragging about this baby or that I am convinced this will last, it’s just so, so different than what I’ve experienced in the past 16 years! Seriously, sleep makes such a difference in life and I really get it now that every baby is different. Completely different no matter how many similarities they share with their siblings.

Speaking of similarities, looking at (real) Henry has been a real doozy for me. I kept searching his face for something familiar but he just looked like a stranger to me. I’m sure this isn’t an uncommon feeling to have, but for me it was really hard because in each of the others there were parts of them that I immediately recognized as coming from me, or their fathers. Henry feels different. I recognize his head shape and ears to be from his father but his face really threw me through a loop. That was until yesterday when I found a baby picture of myself. Holy crap. How I didn’t remember what I looked like as a newborn is beyond me but he really is my child and he really looks very similar to how I looked. See for yourself:

Pretty similar, right? Not exact twins, like Aidan and (blog) Henry, but pretty close. More similarities than I ever thought of!

Well, I hear the munchkin waking up, time to relieve some pressure from my boobs! Woo hoo that is definitely a favorite part of my day because they really fill up and hurt!

I hope you all have a great day :)

2 thoughts on “Sleeping and Similarities

  1. How lucky that this baby is a good sleeper! Phew! Evelyn is NOT a good sleeper – never has been. It’s one of the reasons why I don’t wanna go for #2 while she’s still young. I don’t think I can handle two crappy sleepers on my own every night.

    He does look like you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We were fully expecting to not sleep again for a year.. I forgot that some babies actually do sleep! There is hope for you but I completely understand your feelings! After having colicky Marshal I swore that he was the last! It was so awful! Obviously I changed my mind but it took me 13 years lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

