Party of Six

Our family has officially grown! We welcomed the newest member of our family on Saturday July 11 at 9:57 am and it is a boy! He was born weighing 7 pounds and 13 ounces and measuring 20 inches long.

IMG_0641

I wish I could say it was an easy labor but following the events of the pregnancy an easy labor wasn’t in the cards. I ended up getting a C-section and that was the only thing that made the event easy. When they removed him they found him face up and the cord was wrapped around his neck not just once but twice. The cord was also wrapped around his body once, and that combined with all of the extra fluid explained why it was excruciatingly painful and my efforts to push him out were unsuccessful. I tried to get an epidural but that didn’t work as the woman wasn’t able to get it in correctly. Talk about pain! All in all it was by far the worst and most painful experience of my life but it is over and so far my recovery has been going smoothly!

IMG_0628

As when Henry was born, this boy also had pretty bad jaundice so he had to stay in the an extra night under special lights to bring it back down. Luckily the lights worked wonders and we were able to bring our sweet boy home last night! He’s a great sleeper and since his first night in the world he goes for 2-3+ hours between feedings. That’s a huge change for us considering Henry only went for 45 minutes to an hour. We have been getting good sleep and it really makes such a difference!

IMG_0629

What about his name? Funny actually about his name. We picked the name Logan ahead of time if he was born a boy but when he arrived Aidan didn’t think it was a good match. I was pretty upset by this but I didn’t fight for keeping it because I’d never want to not like my sons name and didn’t feel Aidan should feel that way either. We referred to our list of possible names and finally the day before discharge decided on, get this.. Henry. You may or may not know but I use Henry as my 2 year olds name on the blog. It isn’t his name in real life, but it is a name I chose for him because I love it and I thought it suit him well. So the new baby’s name really is Henry. Henry Maddox. :)

IMG_0650

I think I’ll be changing blog Henry’s name because I don’t want to confuse myself when I write about him and I’ll be coming up with a blog name for the real Henry. Lots of new name picking going on this week lol

IMG_0640

Well, I am going to wrap this up for now but hope to be back again tomorrow with more. Aidan got me the sweetest and most unexpected push present that I want to brag a little about and I’ll try to post some good pictures of the baby. I’ll also talk a little more about the birth and what has been happening with the big kids since their party last week.

IMG_0633

I hope you all are doing great, I miss you all and hope to catch up with your blogs in the next few days!

14 thoughts on “Party of Six

  1. I’ve been waiting for this post! I had a feeling it was coming as you disappeared for a bit, so I assumed that surely it meant the baby was on his way! What a beautiful little boy! And all that hair!!! I want to squish him (in a good way of course!!). I love the name as well, but I’m a bit biased as Henry was one of the names we had on our list for boys as well. Plus it’s my grandpa’s name. Hopefully your recovery is going as well as it can and you are enjoying all of the newborn baby snuggles! Can’t wait to see more pictures of your beautiful family :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations to you and your family. So happy that you and baby Henry are doing great–and you look amazing! Big brother seems to be very proud to hold his little bro…so cute.
    Thanks for bringing us up to date–I’ve been thinking about you every day, wondering if baby had arrived.
    This has been a busy week for babies–your baby boy on Sat, a friend’s baby boy on Monday, another friend’s baby girl on Tues and another friend’s baby boy yesterday. Did you all attend a party nine months ago together? LOL
    Looking forward to seeing more pictures and to hearing how you’re all settling in. Congratulations again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations!! Little Henry shares his birthday with my wonderful brother! So happy for you and for your family. Cherish these moments and these days, as I know you will. I’ll be sending you lots of light and love. And I’ll be here rudy to read when you find time to squeeze in some blogging in between feedings, sleep, and everything else that you do! You are super woman! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on the real Henry, Ginger-Lee! That sounds like a painful (and dangerous) labor indeed. I hope you are doing better now. What lovely pictures of your family you posted. And you look great in the hospital. Much love!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations!! (Blog) Henry looks so thrilled so be a big brother!! Feel better – I had a C-section, so I literally and figuratively feel your pain. Hope that you are on the road to healing (and resting) now that you are over a week out. xxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it caught up to me tonight, I am hurting but resting and plan on taking it easy tomorrow :) I’ve just been so happy to have him out of me that I haven’t been paying attention otherwise

      Like

Leave a Reply

