Happy Mother’s Day

I just wanted to start by saying Happy Mother’s Day to all of my old and new mommy blogging friends out here in the blogging world. I’ve been lucky to “meet” so many wonderful mom’s out here, from all walks of life and from all over the world. If your country doesn’t celebrate mother’s day, I still wish you a great day full of love and enjoyment!

Mother’s Day Get Togethers

Later this afternoon we are going to head down to my parents house and have a little cookout for the day. My mom requested that I bring this salad and I am super happy to! I haven’t made this in a while but it is always super yummy. Even though it is called a winter salad it can be made anytime that pears are available and my mom said they are really good right now so I’m going for it! Yummy!

Yesterday we went to Aidan’s parents house for a visit and then out to Don Pablo’s for dinner. I had a lot of fun and I think everyone else did, too. Henry got to sit next to his grandpa (PAA!) during dinner and had a smile on his face through out dinner; it was adorable. We all chatted about a lot of things, stories from Aidan’s youth, what’s been happening lately and thoughts about the new baby that will be coming soon. It was really nice and felt more like a double date than a dinner with the in-laws. A very nice time for sure.

Working Girl

While we were gone Regina started her first day at her first job. She has been looking for a job for quite some time and her dad actually helped land her this one at a driving range and miniature golf course that is right down the street from us. She didn’t receive a schedule yet but said she liked her first day. I’m excited for her and this means she is on her way to getting her drivers license. Aidan and I discussed it and told her she could get her permit — if she gets serious about saving money for a car and insurance for a year. We set her “savings goal” up and reviewed it with her and now that she has an income she can get started! I’m sure I’ll talk more about her permit and learning to drive (and my anxiety surrounding all of this) in the short future :)

A Whole Lotta Poo

Also while we were out yesterday the company that Aidan ordered top soil from dropped of the 2 yards of dirt into our driveway. Yup 2 yards of manure are sitting next to the house just waiting to be moved to the raised beds. Woo hoo. Okay, I totally understated that woo hoo but I hope it won’t start stinking lol I was happy to see the dirt honestly because now all the seedlings and plants can be put into the beds! We are on our way to home-grown veggies, herbs and fruits all summer!

Air Conditioner’s Are In

It is really (really) early in the year for us (Aidan) to put the air conditioners in the windows, but last week it was hot and made the house unbearable! On Friday Aidan asked me multiple times if I wanted the AC’s put in but I said no because it is only the beginning of May. After listening to me say about a thousand times (no exaggeration) how hot I was though he went into the attic and pulled two of the units down. I can’t blame him for not wanting to listen to my bitching all night, but honestly I didn’t even realize I was saying it haha. He wasn’t mad or anything just didn’t want to hear “OMFG! It’s hot!!” come out of my mouth one more time. I am so glad he did it too because it was instant relief once they were running. It went from 88 to 75 in here really fast. Ahh! I hate to spend the money on energy but it is what it is. I can’t imagine we will use them consistently, I mean it won’t be this hot for the rest of spring, will it? I hope not!

Well, have a great Mother’s Day/Sunday! Do you have any plans? Whatever it is you’ll be doing I hope it will be calm and lovely, and most importantly relaxing and enjoyable!

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

