In The Last Stretch of This Busy Week

Eye See You

Yesterday morning I had my neuro-optimolgy (?) appointment that my OB had set me up with a few months ago. I don’t know if I went into detail about what was going on with my vision but the quick version is that my left eye’s vision was being replaced with bright white followed by tunnel vision. My right eye was effected similarly but not to the extent of the left’s. These episodes would last for about 20-30 minutes and I admit the two times this happened it was pretty scary.

Once I got to my appointment a lot of questions were asked and my eyes were throughly checked. It came out that for most of my life I also see “stars” from time to time, which I just assumed was caused by too sudden of movement or high blood pressure (or stress). It turns out that all of these light related problems are actually a type of migraine and nothing to be worried about. Awesome! I wasn’t two worried and even thought of cancelling the appointment because I thought it was all stress related, but I am glad I went. Mystery solved.

The doctor told me this is very common believe it or not and since I don’t get piercing headaches afterwards and it doesn’t happen daily I don’t need to be concerned or need any special treatment. She also let me know that my vision is still perfect and my eyes are very healthy. This was all great news as I haven’t had my eyes checked since I was a junior in high school — 20 years ago. Yikes! I don’t know what is scarier that I’ve been out of high school for almost 20 years or the fact that I really don’t take my routine health seriously at all..

31 Down 9 to Go

This morning I have my regular OB appointment and thankfully I don’t have any special tests to take, it should be in and out. I think they will tell me to start coming every two weeks now as tomorrow I am officially 31 weeks pregnant! Holy crap we are into the single digit count down! I feel as big as a house and that is torturous because I know I’m just going to get bigger and bigger from here.

Let Them Eat Cake (then Make Them Sweat it Off)

Other than my doctors appointment they only other things I am going to try accomplishing today are making these cupcakes with Henry and getting to the Y with all of the kids. As soon as I saw the recipe for the cupcakes yesterday I decided that I needed them in my life so Regina and I went to get the ingredients. I’ve never baked with Henry before but he loves to help with everything so it might work out well. In reality it’ll probably be disastrous trying to contain the mess but it’s worth a try! As far as the Y, I haven’t gotten there yet this week and I really don’t want to go because I’m feeling exhausted but it will be good for the kids and I guess it will be good for me, too.

Birthday Planning Bust

Tomorrow is Aidan’s birthday and I am having a really hard time with his gift. I can’t say what it is because he sneak reads here sometimes (hi brat!) but my wonderful idea is landing me in dead ends every where I turn. It’s frustrating because I have the perfect idea but the universe isn’t following along. I’ll figure something out. Father’s Day isn’t far off so maybe I’ll use this idea for then so I have more time to research and I’ll come up with an alternative for tomorrow.

Okay, well, have a great day! I hope the weather is really great for you! We’ve been lucky to get a taste of summer here this week so it’s been really enjoyable! I hope you can say the same :)

One thought on “In The Last Stretch of This Busy Week

  1. <3 to read about your days. They sound so wonderfully normal. I remember when. I'm glad I'm here because I gave up longing for the past and hoping for the future a long time ago. If I have learned anything about life, it is embrace your moment now. But I do have such great memories and I do get a little ping when I think about days gone by. I had 5 kids and I loved being pregnant and a mom for the most part. Have a great day :) Weather has been good here too. Go Blackhawks <3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

