Thinking about Spring!

Well, here we are, on the last day of the month and it’s hard to believe that winter is almost officially over. I am really looking forward to warmer weather and longer days and have noticed already that the sun is hanging out later and later as the weeks go by.

Last fall I tried my hand at planting spring bulbs in the front and back yard and I am really hoping that some of them will sprout. All together I think I planted about 220 bulbs of different types of flowers. I know we chose hyacinths, crocuses, and tulips. There were also two or three other types that I can’t remember the names of or what they even look like. I know we didn’t get daffodils.. Or did we? Anyway, it was a lot of bulbs and I clustered them like crazy. I hope I did it right and they will look pretty.

I am crossing my fingers that any of them will sprout because I know the squirrels went crazy digging for them after I planted them but I don’t think they got them all. Only time will tell and if I have try again next year I am going to build cages around the bulbs so they won’t be eaten again!

I really enjoy gardening and luckily Aidan enjoys it more than I do. We had the whole backyard yard ripped up 2 years ago after I was injured and couldn’t care for it for 3 years. It was an overgrown disgrace! He had trees and bushes removed and sod put down. He’s struggled with the grass the next year and before he realized that the ground was too compacted for the grass to take root so he started fixing that. He also had a few more trees removed last year to get some more sunlight back there.

We started planting shrubs and plants last year and it was really a good project for us to work on together. This year Aidan is going to build a raised planter for vegetables and I’d like to add a few more of the plants we we started with last year like Azaleas and Creeping Roses. I’d really like to add one more Hydrangea bush (which sadly didn’t bloom last year) and ornamental grass (which I always have loved but didn’t have sunlight for.) We also need to do something in the front yard as we both decided we want to pull out the burning bush that I planted many, many years ago. I might just try to make a decorative grass garden out there too as it’s full sun and they are low maintenance and so pretty! Obviously that is all too much to do in one year because of both cost and time but I could start narrowing things down and researching then start a 2 year plan if need be :)

Oh, I am so ready for winter to be over! I am lucky that I won’t be too big before the spring ends and hopefully I will get to work out there and make things pretty before this baby comes and slows me down more than ever. If I get it all done by June I should be in good shape to enjoy it through the summer, big belly, little baby and all!

Last year we had a little birthday party for Henry here and enjoyed the yard, hopefully this year we will be able to do the same. I guess I could start planning for that so I have enough time that I won’t get overwhelmed at the last minute. Yeah, I am crazy that I want to start planning 2 months ahead. Lol.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

