A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

Weather
It’s a crazy cold 9 degrees outside right now. What’s funny to me is that it kind of looks like spring. If I didn’t actually walk out there I might have be fooled into thinking it was warm with the way the sun is coming up and how clear and blue the sky looks. The weather people are warning that it is going to be this cold for almost a week and I really think that stinks. I am so over this winter already. We haven’t gotten any storms and that’s the only part I like about the season.

Sleeping In
I got to sleep in late this morning! I sent Marshall a text last night to unplug his alarm clock because he and Regina are off until Tuesday and his alarm never wakes him up but I hear it 2 floors up every time. I’m glad he unplugged it because it sure felt great not having to wake up when it was still dark out, especially to someone else’s alarm. I’m really not looking forward to the daylight savings change in a few weeks. It’s always a hard adjustment when the spring one rolls around. The kids are going to have a really hard time with it which just makes my life that much more unpleasant. There isn’t anything that can be done about it either, ugh.

Germs
Henry is really sick. He’s had a fever for the past two days and I really feel bad for the little guy. Luckily, he doesn’t get sick often and I’m hoping today will be the end of it. Aidan isn’t feeling well either and I can’t imagine he will feel any better today after sleeping on the Henry’s floor all night. When I woke up this morning I realized Aidan was still in Henry’s room. He lays in there at night until Henry falls asleep but must have passed out and not woken up. The baby must have climbed out of his bed and laid next to him at some point because when I looked in they were both snuggled on the floor together. It was a cute picture to take but I didn’t want to wake them up by going in there and making noise with my phone.

Medication Troubles
Once again I had trouble getting Marshall’s script filled. When we were at the doctors last week he filled it out the way the pharmacy said but now the insurance company wants a doctors prior-authorization, whatever the fuck that means. I’m glad I didn’t wait until he ran out of the prescription from last month before I tried filling it. Hopefully it will be sorted out before he is out of them in 7 days. It’s so frustrating to have to go through trouble with this every month. This is now the third time we’ve had some issue and it really creates a lot of stress for me. Luckily though, like I said, I didn’t wait until the last minute this time so it isn’t a huge pressing ordeal.

Food
I am going to make a new recipe, white chicken lasagna, for dinner tonight and I’m excited. The pictures look really really good! I’ve never had a chicken lasagna before and I am hopeful that everyone will like it. Last night I made sausage and pepper sandwiches, which I haven’t made in years. They were better than I remember them being and everyone liked them — except Aidan, because he didn’t try them. He doesn’t like sausage, except for the breakfast kind. He likes every other kind of pork in the world though. I think he would like it if he tried it, but oh well, his loss if he doesn’t. Yum, they really were good! I also pulled some flank steak out of the freezer so I can make fajitas on Saturday. I’m looking forward to them as well. Can you tell that I am hungry?

Tattoo Convention
Last weekend I saw a billboard for the tattoo convention they are having downtown this weekend and I thought it would be a fun place to take Marshall. He loves tattoos and drawing and wants to be a tattoo artist. He actually already has 2 tattoo’s that I won’t get started about because he got them behind my back, but in any case, I thought it would be great for him to network and get an idea about the industry. He’s very talented and has a small but impressive portfolio started. I want to support him in pursuit of a career, but when I looked the convention up, I found the admission price is pretty steep. It’s not uber pricy but at $22 a ticket, plus the cost of the train and lunch, if I took him and his buddy and Regina down there it would end up being close to a $200 day.

I looked for a Groupon but there isn’t one offered and aside from the price, the weather (as I mentioned) is ridiculously harsh. I didn’t mention it to him because I didn’t want to disappoint him and I’m glad I didn’t because we won’t be going. If only it were in the spring or summer (or even fall) and they had a Groupon or buy one get on free. Then I could afford it and we wouldn’t freeze our asses off.

Well, that wraps up my randomness for the morning. I hope you have a great day and a nice long weekend!

8 thoughts on “A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

  1. Hi Ginger…great post full of information. I hope your little guy feels better soon and that Aiden doesn’t get too sick. There are nasty flues going around here and I imagine the same is true where you live. And as for cold–we’ve been struggling with temps hovering around -30 C with the wind chill (you’ll have to look that up to convert it to F but trust me when I say that it is damn cold!) I think this afternoon I’ll sit and catch up on reading posts by some of the bloggers I follow (including you)… Good thing to do on a freezing cold Friday. Happy Valentines Day early, by the way! Hope you get to enjoy it with your man.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yikes!! That’s -22 ferinheit!! That is crazy cold! I think our lowest with the wind chill will be -10 on Monday and I’m dreading that, so I can only imagine how you are feeling! Did you get a ton of snow? It’s great to see you here and thankfully the baby is doing so much better as the day is moving on. Aidan seems okay, but still not himself. Maybe tomorrow :)
      We do not have any big plans for tomorrow but we will be together so I’m happy for that 😀 happy Valentine’s Day to you too, big hugs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

