Resolutions Make Good To-Do’s

Here we are, at the start of another New Year, another day in life that fills us with hope that this year will be different, better than the last. I don’t think that I am alone when I say that each new year looks optimistic and feels like a time to achieve all the things we weren’t able to during the last 365 days.

The truth is we don’t need this holiday to start change or make lists or resolutions, but since it’s prompted it does make it easier to focus on what it is we’d like to do in the year ahead. As for myself there are plenty of things that I’d like to accomplish and as one who does well with lists I might as well start mine. A few years ago when I started blogging regularly I made a list of 365 resolutions. It was tall order and a mixture of things I wanted to do, things I had to do and things I hoped to do. It ranged from taking a rip to NYC to painting my nails; fixing walls in my house and finding something special. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to accomplish one item a day and left quite a bit to chance, but my goal was to get it all done. I completed more than half of my resolutions and felt great about it. That particular year was the worst in my life on an emotional/life changing level so doing any of it was a major accomplishment.

I found a few important things out about my list. The first was that I loved having something to work towards. 365 things to cross off meant that I was never at a loss for something to do. In my spare time I worked on what I could and it made me do things I would normally turn my cheek on, like taking that trip to NY. Another thing I learned was that I became more aware of everyday life. I found opportunity when I otherwise would just be going about my day. I somehow came to appreciate the small things, like finding loose change in the street as if I were a child again. The last important lesson I learned from life was that my list of goals really helped me get through a horrible terrible year. If I didn’t have so many goals to focus on I may have fallen into a much worse depression and not done anything but lived in misery. I had things to take my focus off of the bad and felt rewarded for accomplishing so many things during the worst time of my life.

Looking back I can see that although that really was the worst year of my life, in a way it also was one of my best. I had more strength than I ever thought possible. I learned a lot about myself during that time. I turned hurt and pain into proving to myself that I didn’t have to give up and that life would go on. And life does always go on. What you do with your time is entirely up to you. I’m so thankful that I had that hair-brained idea to create so many to-do’s, it was a life changer.

All that said I’ve been wrestling with the idea of creating another list of goals for the year. I don’t believe 365 is the number for me but I’d like to make it high enough that I can keep busy crossing things off but not too long that I can’t reach my goals. So what is the magic number? Well, I’m thinking since there are 52 weeks in a year I will start there, but then I’ll add another 12 to represent the months. Weekly goals & monthly goals. That gives me 64 items. Surely there are 64 things I can do in this house alone!

I’ll be working on my list throughout the day and see if it is a good fit. Hopefully it will be and I’ll post it on my ext post.

How about you, what are your resolutions? Are you a list maker like me?

Leave a Reply

